Concept Assessment Academy

A range of Assessor and Verifier courses for anybody working in the fields of Workplace or Vocational Assessment and Internal Quality Assurance

What are the TAQA suite of Assessor and IQA Qualifications Comprised of?

The TAQA (Training, Assessment and Quality Assurance) suite of qualifications combines a variety of units to enable you to become an Assessor, an Internal Quality Assurer (IQA) or an External Quality Assurer (EQA).

The new TAQA qualifications replace the old ‘NVQ Assessor and Internal Verifier’ qualifications which you may have known as D32/33  and D34 or A1/2 and V1 Units.

The new units offer a lot more flexibility to obtain a qualification which matches your particular job role.




In order to be able to assess learners undertaking formal accredited learning, whether in the workplace or within a classroom or training environment, you must hold an Assessor Qualification. The new Suite of Assessor qualifications consists of 3 units:

Unit 1 - Understanding the Principles and Practice of Assessment

3 Credits

A knowledge only unit, mandatory for all the assessor qualifications.


Unit 2 - Assess Occupational Competence in the Work Environment

6 Credits

A unit designed for assessors who assess job related work place competency.


Unit 3 - Assess Vocational skills, knowledge and Understanding

6 Credits

This unit is for assessors who assess in a vocational environment such as a classroom, workshop or simulated environment.

There are 4 different qualifications that are available to undertake in the new TAQA suite of qualifications.

The qualifications combine different units as detailed above,  dependent upon the assessor role you will be expected to perform. The knowledge unit can be taken as a standalone qualification or combined with one or more of the competence units.

Take a look at the qualifications below to find out which one meets your requirements and click for more specific details

Level 3 Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement

15 Credits Total

GLH – 84

Units 1, 2 and 3

This is the qualification which relates most to the old D32/33 and A1/2 Assessor Qualifications

It consists of all 3 of the above units (1, 2 and 3) and is most appropriate for assessors who assess in both workplace and training environments, using a wide variety of assessment methodologies.


Level 3 Award in Assessing Competence in the Work Environment

9 Credits

GLH – 54

Unit 1 and 2

This qualification is for assessors who will only be required to assess in the workplace, assessing learners in job related competency. Assessment methodologies will focus around observation, oral and written questioning and professional discussions along with naturally occurring evidence such as work products.

It consists of Unit 1 and Unit 2.

Level 3 Award in Assessing Vocationally Related Achievement

9 credits

GLH – 54

Units 1 and 3

This qualification consists of Unit 1 and Unit 3.

It is most suited to assessors who assess achievement in vocational situations, e.g. classrooms, workshops or simulated environments where assessment is predominantly through skills tests, assignments, case studies, written questions or projects.


Level 3 Award in Understanding the Principles and Practices of Assessment

3 credits

GLH – 24

Unit 1 only

A knowledge only qualification consisting of purely Unit 1.

Ideal for those who need to have a working knowledge of the concepts and principles of assessment, such as line managers, qualification administrative staff or those who aspire to be an assessor but are not yet in a position to gather competency evidence.

Please note that, whilst this unit does form a qualification in itself, it does not allow practice of assessment as the 3 above qualifications do.

Internal  Quality Assurance Qualifications

(previously Internal Verifier)




If you have worked in the teaching, assessing and IQA fields previously, you may be more familiar with the terminology of ‘Internal Verifier’.

These qualifications were previously identified by their unit codes D34 / V1.

Under the new TAQA qualifications this qualification has now been re-branded  as an ‘Internal Quality Assurer’ rather than ‘Internal Verifier’.

The new IQA qualifications, whilst having a strong familiarity to the old Internal Verifier qualification, are designed to reflect a more ‘holistic’ approach to Quality Assurance, focusing on Quality from the start and also throughout the programme rather than just ‘end point checking’.

The 3 units which comprise the various qualificatios are as follows:

Unit 1 - Understanding the Principles and Practices of Internally Assuring the Quality of Assessment

6 Credits

A knowledge only unit for the underpinning knowledge required for the qualification

Unit 2 - Internally Assure the Quality of Assessment

6 Credits

The competence unit where you will be required to carry out real IQA with real Assessors

Unit 3 - Plan Allocate and Monitor Work in own Area of Responsibility

5 Credits

This unit is purely about the management and leadership of a team of IQA’s and focuses predominantly on allocating work, managing performance and staff development.

Level 4 Award in Understanding The Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice

 Unit 1 only

6 credits

GLH – 45

The Level 4 Award in Understanding the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Process and Practice is a knowledge based  unit / award. This award forms part of the requirement for the IQA Award, however it can be taken in isolation and is ideally suited to new IQA’s or somebody who wants to know what it is like to be an IQA without carrying out any quality assurance activities.

Please note that this unit can be achieved without having to carry out IQA activities with assessors, however achievement of the unit/award will not qualify you to carry out IQA activities without undertaking the performance unit.


Level 4 Award in the Internal Quality Assurance of  Assessment Processes and Practice

Unit 1 and Unit 2

 Credits 12

GLH – 90

This qualification is for practitioners who conduct internal quality assurance of the assessment process from within a centre or organisation. This will include sample planning, monitoring assessors, advising and supporting assessors, talking to learners and witnesses and maintaining records.

Level 4 Certificate in Leading the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice

Unit 1, 2 and 3

Credits 17

GLH- 115

The Edexcel Level 4 Certificate in Leading the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (QCF): is for those who have wider quality assurance responsibilities and manage others, develop policies or manage External Quality Assurance (EQA) visits. This is a qualification for Lead Internal Quality Assurers only.