02476 889402

3 Aug 2012

New PTLLS: Changes to Teacher Training

Posted By



If you want a career in the lifelong learning sector, and plan on teaching in a further education college or private training, the new PTLLS is perfect for you.




Some of the changes are designed to make the qualifications more reflective of the whole sector, rather than just further education colleges. As you know, lifelong learning is a diverse sector and the way that things are done in further education establishments is not necessarily a blueprint for other lifelong learning, such as work based learning and community education. This change means that the qualifications better represent a wide range of teaching and training environments.


Other important changes include the move from 6 to 12 credits on the QCF framework. Read more about QCF credits by clicking here. Also, if you’ve completed the new Assessor Award that came out after September 2010, you might not have to complete new PTLLS Unit 1: understanding the principles and practices of assessment. If you have certificated proof that you have achieved Unit 1: understanding the principles and practices of assessment, you will be able to use the 3 QCF credits gained in attaining this qualification as recognised accredited prior learning and you will not need to repeat the unit. We simply need a scanned version of your Unit 1 certificate to forward to our awarding body as proof.


At either Level 3 or Level 4, the new PTLLS Award is made up of four units worth three credits each. The four units worth three credits each are:


  • roles and responsibilities in lifelong learning;
  • understanding inclusive learning and teaching in lifelong learning;
  • using inclusive learning and teaching approaches in lifelong learning; and
  • assessment in lifelong learning.


And there’s a new range of additional units that are available as alternatives. The additional PTLLS units available as alternatives are:


  • facilitate learning and development in groups (new unit at level 3)
  • facilitate learning and development for individuals (new unit at level 3)
  • understanding the principles and practices of assessment (Training, Assessment, Quality, and Assurance unit at level 3)
  • manage learning and development in groups (new unit at level 4)


Ann Gravells has published a new PTLLS book, Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector – The New Award, to help and guide PTLLS learners who’ve enrolled on the new PTLLS course. The book is specifically tailored to and targeted at learners doing the new PTLLS qualification.


Don’t worry if you already have your PTLLS, it will still be recognised when the new PTLLS starts to be compulsory in September 2013.  


Concept Academies provides short intensive 3 day PTLLS teacher training courses in Lichfield and Tamworth.  Click HERE for more information.

Live Chat