02476 889402

3 Aug 2012

Some changes to PTLLS that you should know about

Posted By


Before they closed, Lifelong Learning UK (LLUK) completed a review of the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) qualifications for teachers and trainers in the lifelong learning, wider further education, and work based learning sectors.




The main change is that, from the 1st February 2012, the new PTLLS is now worth 12 credits instead of 6 on the QCF framework. Read more about QCF credits by clicking here.


The new PTLLS units have more flexibility, especially if you have already completed PTLLS Unit 1: understanding the principles and practices of assessment as part of your Assessor Award (this will be the case if you’ve completed the new Assessor Award that came out after September 2010). If you have certificated proof that you have achieved Unit 1: understanding the principles and practices of assessment, you will be able to use the 3 QCF credits gained in attaining this qualification as recognised accredited prior learning and you will not need to repeat the unit. We simply need a scanned version of your Unit 1 certificate to forward to our awarding body as proof.


New PTLLS is still available at Level 3 and Level 4. There are now four units worth three credits each. And there’s a range of additional units that are available as alternatives. The new PTLLS’ units allow for a range of different learning options, some suited to those just starting out in teaching and others suited to those who are already in teaching posts and looking to add to their Continual Professional Development (CPD).


The four units worth three credits each are:


  • roles and responsibilities in lifelong learning;
  • understanding inclusive learning and teaching in lifelong learning;
  • using inclusive learning and teaching approaches in lifelong learning; and
  • assessment in lifelong learning.


The additional units available as alternatives are:


  • facilitate learning and development in groups (new unit at level 3)
  • facilitate learning and development for individuals (new unit at level 3)
  • understanding the principles and practices of assessment (Training, Assessment, Quality, and Assurance unit at level 3)
  • manage learning and development in groups (new unit at level 4)


People who already hold alternative units will be able to claim Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL).


There is a new PTLLS book, Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector – The New Award, by Ann Gravells that we guide you through the new qualification.


If you have an existing PTLLS qualifications, it will still be recognised after the new qualifications come in.


Contact us for more information on the new teacher training qualifications.

Live Chat